The movie is different from other war movies in Indian cinema as it vividly describes the IAF's role in 1971 Indo-Pakistani war in the western sector.<br/>The film starts with an air raid by Pakistan Air Force (PAF) on an Indian Air Force (IAF) airbase in the western sector in India. After the raid a pilot (Raj Kumar) takes an oath while standing near the body of a dead ground crewman - "Jawaab dene aaunga, is jawan ki kasam, Hindustan Ki Kasam" (we will avenge, we swear by this soldier, we swear by Hindustan). The credits start while the title song of the movie is played in the background (sung by the Mohammed Rafi and Manna Dey).The movie revolves around the IAF's mission of destroying a PAF radar which blocks IAF pilots radios in combat. Indian intelligence plant Tahira (Priya Rajvansh), who is the fiancee of a PAF pilot (Amjad Khan). Tahira goes to Pakistan and starts working as a singer on Pakistan TV (PTV) studio (where the radar which jams the radio frequency of IAF jets is also kept). Tahira informs the IAF about the jammer. IAF asks her to leave the building in the night after her programme is done so that they can raid the building.PAF's counter intelligence learns about her and they zero in on her on that very night. As soon her programme is finished the IAF air raids the studio while she is still inside. In the dogfight with Pak sabers Raj Kumar's jet is destroyed and he crashes. He radios for help and the IAF fighters destroy the pursuing Pakistani soldiers and their vehicles. The pilot and Tahira are evacuated. The movie ends with IAF's flypast on the Republic day parade in New Delhi, with the title song in the background.
Manisha Koirala, Farida Jalal, Prem Chopra, more..
Veeru Devgan
Release Date
Fri Jul, 23 1999

Cast Overview

Manisha Koirala
... Roshanaara
Farida Jalal
... Mother of Ajay and Tauheed
Prem Chopra
... B.S. Brar
Navin Nischol
... Chander Malhotra
Gulshan Grover
... Jabbar

Crew Overview

Veeru Devgan
... producer
Norman Kent
... Cinematography
Parikshit Lalwani
... sound editor
Agnelo D'Souza
... special effects technician
Prasad Sutar
... digital compositor